Thursday, September 15, 2011

The prize in today's voting!

Some of our readers might wonder about the organisation of the Danish Parliament as seen in the photograph of the day.

The Danish parliament (‘Folketinget’ in Danish) consists of one chamber with 179 seats – 175 seats in Denmark and two each for the Faroe Islands and Greenland.

Of those seats, 135 are distributed through proportional representation in the 10 constituencies. Constituencies have as few as two representatives (Bornholm) and as many as 20 (Zealand Constituency).

An additional 40 seats are allotted based upon the total distribution of votes in three voting regions – Central and Northern Jutland, Zealand and Southern Denmark and Greater Copenhagen.

This is what today's voting is about!